14 Indigenous languages featured on Australian coin to mark International Year of Indigenous Languages


09 April 2019
A new coin that incorporates 14 translations for ‘coin’ from some of the many Indigenous languages in Australia has been launched in Adelaide.

The coin has been produced by the Royal Australian Mint and developed in collaboration with the Australian Institute of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Studies (AIATSIS) to a design developed in consultation with 14 Indigenous language groups from around Australia, including the traditional people of Adelaide, the Kaurna people. 

Languages are central to the identity of Indigenous Australians and the second National Indigenous Languages Survey conducted in 2014 by AIATSIS recognised that remaining connected to Language strengthens well-being and self-esteem in Indigenous communities.


Only 120 Australian Indigenous languages are known to be spoken today, according to the most recent report of the Second National Indigenous Languages Survey published in 2014.  This is in comparison to over 250 Indigenous Australian languages that were in known use in 1788.


A celebration of unique languages


Content continues after advertisements

Royal Mint Australia CEO Ross MacDiarmaid said: 'These coins are a celebration of Australia’s unique and diverse Indigenous languages, we hope the coins will serve as a tangible reminder of the important efforts being undertaken to preserve, protect and revitalise Indigenous languages in Australia.'


The coin will enter circulation from 8 April.  For those looking to keep the coin, a frosted uncirculated version is available for $10.00 and a fine silver proof version is available for $80.00 from the Mint’s website or Contact Centre (1300 652 020). 


QUICK LINK: New coin recreates the beauty of the Crown Jewels