Three more women to be honoured on US coins


10 June 2021
The next three women featured on coins as part of the US Mint's 'American Women Quarters' series have been revealed, with Wilma Mankiller, Adelina Otero-Warren, and Anna May Wong set to be honoured.

Mint Director David J. Ryder said:

'Courageous women have made countless contributions throughout our great Nation’s history. The American Women Quarters Program is a unique opportunity to honour a broad and diverse group of women whose achievements, triumphs, and legacies reflect the strength and resilience of our Nation. We look forward to sharing their stories.'

The three women will be honoured on coins alongside author Maya Angelou and astronaut Dr Sally Ride, already announced, with the coins set to be issued in 2022.

Content continues after advertisements
  • Wilma Mankiller was the first female Principal Chief of the Cherokee Nation and an activist for Native American and women’s rights.
  • Adelina Otero-Warren was a leader in New Mexico’s suffrage movement and the first female superintendent of Santa Fe public schools.
  • Anna May Wong was the first Chinese American film star in Hollywood, achieving international success despite racism and discrimination.

Authorized by Public Law 116-330—the women honoured will come from ethnically, racially, and geographically diverse backgrounds. As required by the Public Law, no living person will be featured in the coin designs, and thus all the women honoured must be deceased.

The Mint will issue up to five coins with different reverse designs annually over the four-year period from 2022 through 2025.

The obverse of each coin will feature a portrait of George Washington.

SIGN UP TO THE FREE NEWSLETTER TODAY and we'll send you news, views and coins guides direct to your inbox. It's completely free and a great way to keep up to date with the very latest new coins and enter our latest competitions.