Germany releases new coin for the Euros


11 June 2024
To mark the UEFA European Football Championship, colloquially referred to as the Euros, Germany has issued an €11 coin to reflect the 11 players on a football team.

Münze Deutschland have stated this is likely to be the Federal Republic of Germany’s first and probably only €11 collector’s silver coin, which makes the new coin release unique. 

The motif on the coin has been designed by Detlef Behr from Cologne and shows the roof architecture of the Berlin Olympic Stadium where the final of the UEFA European Football Championship will take place. The centre shows a stylised football pitch, including corner flags and a football. The colouring of the of the coin references the German national colours, the numbers 1 and 0 are also featured as part of the coin, representing the 10 venues for the European Championships.

Above: The €11 euro coin is the first produced in the country's history

Upon its release on 8th May 2024, reported queues of 100 to 200 people formed outside Bundesbank branches across the country. In Hanover, people snaked across the forecourt and in Hamburg the queue went around the whole building. 

Content continues after advertisements

The coin is also available to buy online from Münze Deutschland for €29.95 and has been limited to 111,111 issues. 

Related article: Hungary finally issue Euro 2020 coin

Germany and the UEFA European Football Championships 

In 2024, Germany is holding the Euros across 10 different venues from 14th June – 14th July. The group stage, whereby 24 competing teams are split into 6 groups will run until the 26th June with the knockout stage starting on 29th June. 

As the host nation, Germany is seeded in Group A and will play the opening match against Scotland at the Munich Football Arena on 14th June. The final of this year’s tournament will be held at Berlin’s Olympiastadion on Sunday 14th July.

Germany or West Germany have competed at every Euro championship since 1972, with West Germany winning in 1972 and 1980 respectively whilst the united Germany were victorious in 1996.